“You can relieve pain and suffering by learning to take better care of your chakras.”

Catherine Carrigan

Chakras are wheels of energy or energy centres located in different parts of a human body. When they all are spinning smoothly, we get to experience a sense of emotions, mental and physical balance. Taking care of chakras can help you with your anxiety, stress and boost your immunity.

In 300 hour Kundalini Yoga teacher Training and 500 hour Kundalini Yoga Teacher Training at Kundalini Yoga Ashram. We impart in depth knowledge about these chakras and what should be done to align them from time to time and how to gain control over their energies.

There are seven main chakras that coincide with major organs and nerve centers located along the spine. These seven chakras govern specific functions in the body. Each Chakra has a profound meaning and can be associated with a specific colour. These Chakras are:

Root Chakra or Muladhara

Root Chakra

This chakra is present at the base of the spine and makes a strong bond between the body and the soul.This is the root that connects the three qualities of a soul: Sattva, Rajas, and Tamas. This is the main chakra on which all six layers of the chakras maintain their presence. When this chakra is balanced, you feel a sense of security and safety. This balance also aids in improving concentration and bolsters yourself worth.

An imbalance of root chakra can affect you both physically and psychologically and can translate into problems in the legs, feet, rectum, tailbone and immune system. The imbalance in this Chakra further escalates into issues such as arthritis, knee pain, sciatica, eating disorders and constipation. Psychologically, this imbalance results in feelings of anxiety, fear, panic and worry.

Svadhisthana or Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra

This Chakra is located below your navel, at the level of the lumbar vertebrae.It is the centre of our emotions, particularly in the expression of our sensual and sexual desires andis the main point of all procreative energy. Its balance allows one to seek pleasure and helps in achieving life filled with creativity, procreation, and fulfilling relationships.

Imbalance or blockage of the Chakra could lead to hip pain, lower back pain, lower abdominal pain and problems with reproductive organs.

Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra


It is present behind the navel region below the rib cage. It is the place where the personal recognition sense is present. Controls the energy flow in our body and is the centre for physical wellbeing and physiological wellbeing.

An imbalance in this Chakra can lead to physical difficulties such as nausea, ulcers, diabetes etc. Psychologically it leaves you with a feeling of inadequacy and pessimism.

Heart Chakra or Anahata

Anahata Chakra

This Chakra is located at the center of the chest and is responsible for controlling human emotions. This Chakra can open up a deep sense of happiness and peace when awakened. You get to experience love, compassion and forgiveness with the balance of this Chakra.

The imbalance in the Chakra can result in a feeling of stiffness in the chest, or difficulty breathing. Psychologically this Chakra imbalance can make you feel unloved and unworthy.

Throat Chakra or Vishuddha

Throat Chakra

Located in the cervical plexus just behind the throat region and is the chakra of purity. Awakening of this chakra can help you discover capabilities such as sweet voice and singing abilities. Shabd Yoga is the practice needed for awakening this chakra and can be easily opened by chanting mantra jaaps and listening to devotional music. A well-balanced Throat chakra can help you speak, listen and express yourself through a higher form of communication.

When there is an imbalance of the Throat chakra, it can result in lack of control over one’s speech or verbal aggression. Emotionally and psychologically, it affects your public speaking and communicating skills preventing you from freely expressing yourself.

Third Eye Chakra or Ajna

Third Eye Chakra

It is located between the eyebrows exactly in the middle between both of your eyes. One of the best illustrations of the power of this chakra is Mahadeva Shiva’s third eye. The chakra is responsible for intuition, imagination and self-awareness.

When out of alignment it can result in poor vision, headaches and migraines. When it is blocked, you may feel a mental confusion, memory problems and lack of concentration.

Crown Chakra or Sahasrara

Crown Chakra

This is a high level of Kundalini, which is present in the middle of the skull, just on the top of the spinal cord. This chakra is demarcated as a lotus with several petals and is known to be the supreme state of accomplishment in physical presence. When this chakra is balanced, it helps your experience enlightenment and spiritual connection. The Crown’s governing body part is the pineal gland that links the brain and soul allowing wisdom to flow and reach a trance.

Its imbalance results in lack of compassion, headaches, migraines and learning difficulties.

Chakra meditation is the best way to achieve divinity and calmness. At Kundalini Yoga Ashram, we help you awaken all these Chakras to open you up to tremendous power and energy.